Script to remove Windows 10 Upgrade from your domain (or your computer)

If your users are like my users, they like to click things. Anything that says FREE, they are going to click on it.

win10upgrade

I’ve had numerous companies contact me due to the fact that their employee’s are upgrading their OS, without their knowledge or permission. The employee’s received the following prompt, and take it upon themselves to upgrade, without knowing the consequences.

There are a lot of older applications that are still in use today by companies, that do not work with Windows 10. So when the user upgrades, they can no longer do their daily functions, and thus causes a problem. I’ve seen many times where a company has older hardware such as printers, that are not compatible with Windows 10.

If you are wanting to disable the Windows 10 upgrade on your system or your domain, then I have the solution for you.

 

Step 1.

Open Notepad

Step 2.

Copy the below code:

REG ADD “HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Gwx” /v DisableGWX /d 1 /f
REG ADD “HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate” /v DisableOSUpgrade /d 1 /f
REG ADD “HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\OSUpgrade” /v AllowOSUpgrade /d 0 /f
REG ADD “HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\OSUpgrade” /v ReservationsAllowed /d 0 /f
TASKKILL /IM GWX.exe /T /F

start /wait wusa /uninstall /kb:3035583 /quiet /norestart /log
start /wait wusa /uninstall /kb:3035583 /quiet /norestart /log
exit

Step 3.

Paste the code from above, into notepad and SAVE it as “Windows10Kill.BAT” (use the ” in the file name to save the file as a bat file, not a text file.)

Step 4.

Run the BAT file on test computer, then reboot the machine. You will notice that the Windows 10 Upgrade notification is gone! But what you won’t see is that it has been disabled in the registry, so you will not see the notifications anymore!

Step 5.

If you want to run this against your whole domain, add the Windows10Kill.BAT to the default domain policy under logon scripts in Group Policy Management. Once the users reboot, and get their new policy, the notification will be gone…forever… until you decide to reverse the process.

It’s as simple as that.

 

Advertisements